Tiffin City Council chooses new president pro tempore

Council discusses plans for Mayor election

TIFFIN, Ohio – July 14, 2022 – During a special meeting Thursday evening, Tiffin City Council voted to name Steve Lepard as President Pro Tempore. Because Council President Bridget Boyle is currently serving as Acting Mayor following the resignation of Aaron Montz, Lepard will be running the regular council meeting at 7 p.m. Monday, July 18.

Lepard is the 1st Ward Councilmember, filling an unexpired term left by Boyle when she became Council President. He had served as a Councilmember At-Large until December 2021, having been elected twice to the position beginning in January 2014. Prior to that, he had served two terms as 1st Ward Councilmember, from February 2002 to December 2011.

Also during the meeting, Council members discussed plans moving forward for the selection of Mayor to replace Montz, whose term ends Dec. 31, 2023. Discussion will continue during the regular council meeting Monday.