David Pauly

Chief David Pauly

Message from the Chief

On behalf of the men and women of the Tiffin Police Department, I would like to personally welcome you to our department's website. It is my desire that this website be a useful place for visitors desiring information on the various programs and services that our police department provides.

Our website is just one way of showing you the sense of pride, professionalism, and dedication that the members of this department strive to achieve every day. We place tremendous value on the relationships our officers have built in the community they serve. It's our belief that while the mission of the Tiffin Police Department is to protect and serve the public, it's also our obligation to keep you informed of the various changes occurring within our Department.

Your thoughts, comments and observations are not only welcome, but also are very important to us. Thank you for viewing our website, and please follow us on any of our social networking services as we strive to keep you informed regarding the issues that are important to you. We look forward to serving you in the future.

In case of an emergency, please dial 911

(419) 447-2323


The Tiffin Police Department is committed to providing a safe community by controlling crime through prevention, education, and enforcement of the law.



Fairness, Integrity, Respect, Service & Teamwork

Current Staffing

Our department has 37 employees which includes 3 Lieutenants, 6 Sergeants, 3 Detectives, 15 Officers, 7 Dispatchers and 3 Clerks. Five of our employees have served over 25 years and nine employees have served over 15 years. Our department’s average years of service is 11.5 years.

Our dispatchers answered 4,351 9-1-1 calls in 2020. They also answered 18,916 phone calls outside of those 911 calls.

As a unit, our dispatchers have over 40 years of combined experience.

They dispatch for both Tiffin Police and Tiffin Fire & Rescue.

Our dispatchers have completed over 80 hours of advanced training including certifications in Police, Fire & Emergency Medical Dispatch.

Metrich Drug Task Force

Tiffin Police Department is a participating member of the Seneca County Drug Task Force. The task force is a collaborative effort of local law enforcement agencies including the Tiffin Police Department, Seneca County Sheriff’s Office, Fostoria Police Department, BCI&I and an intelligence agent from the Ohio National Guard. In 2020, the task force moved into a new space within the TPD building.


For more information about becoming an Officer, please view the requirements and qualifications listed in the link below.



Marshal of Police

1851      S. H. Kissinger
1852      A. Nichols
1853      J.C. Mitchell
1855      F. Harris
1857      H. Britton
1859      J. Zimmer
1861      L.F. Beilharz
1862      H. Britton
1864     C.  Muetchler
1871      R. Nichols
1875     J. George
1883      W.H. Kissinger
1885      John Hummer

1890      Jeremiah Kerschner
1892      Fred Frick
1895      *August Schultz
1895      Fred Frick
1897     Lloyd Lease
1900     Frank J. Dildine
1902     Jacob A. Seilheimer
1903     James Phillips

*Marshal Schultz was killed in the line of duty
**Changed from title of Marshal to Chief of Police in 1908 and thereafter

Chief of Police

1908      **Claude Myers
1917       Albert E. Heilman
1920      Clyde M. Bordner
1925      Charles Mutchler
1942      Harold J. Fraley
1976      David Martien
1987      Wayne A. Stephens
1996      Thomas G. Steyer
2001      David A. LaGrange
2012      Fredrick W. Stevens