Read Me! Home Contact Us






The Tiffin Police Department wants to remind everyone about the dangers of teen-age drinking. As school proms and graduations approach, the problem of teen-age drinking becomes even more serious than at any other time of the year. After-prom parties and graduation celebrations tempt some young people to drink, often with tragic results.

We are taking this opportunity to remind everyone of the 1989 amendment to the Ohio Revised Code, Section 4301.69. The amendment, commonly known as the "keg law," holds individuals responsible for underage drinking on property under their control. 

For example; if an after-prom party is held at a private home and the parents knowingly allow underage persons to consume alcoholic beverages, both the underage persons and the parents are in violation of the law. You cannot give alcohol to your children's friends under 21 years of age under any circumstances, even in your own home, even with their parents permission. You cannot knowingly allow a person under the age of 21 to remain in your home or on your property while consuming or possessing alcoholic beverages. 

Violation of the keg law is a first degree misdemeanor, punishable with up to six months in jail and/or up to $1,000 fine. Also, police officers can take any alcohol, money or property used in committing this offense (glasses, musical equipment, refrigerator, furniture, etc,). YOU MAY NOT GET IT BACK! Parents may be held liable and can be sued in the event that an underage person hurts someone, damages property or is involved in an alcohol-related crash.

We must continue to work together to stop the senseless tragedies associated with irresponsible and illegal alcohol consumption. We would be happy to answer any questions regarding the liquor laws or to provide any assistance in investigating possible liquor violations. Also, please encourage any individual who observes violations of Ohio liquor laws to call their local police department.

REMEMBER: Alcohol-related crashes are the leading cause of teen-age deaths. Parents attitudes and behaviors about alcohol influence the attitudes and behaviors of their children.

This information is provided by the Tiffin Police Department




Home Up Next